School of Mechanical & Mining Engineering

School Executive

Title Name Position Location Contact
Professor David Mee Head of School 45-413 d.mee@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4058
Professor Andrejs Atrens Head of Division - Materials 49-649 andrejs.atrens@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3748
Professor Peter Knights Head of Division - Mining Engineering 43-204 p.knights@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3915
Professor Ross McAree Chair - Teaching and Learning Committee 45-518 p.mcaree@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3589
Associate Professor Rowan Truss Chair - Research Committee 49-648 r.truss@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3729
Professor Michael Smart Chair - Engagement Committee 45-523 m.smart@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3783
Mrs Kim Lamb School Manager 43-211 k.lamb@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3741
Mr Doug Malcolm Technical Officer - Design / WHSR 45-202:01 d.malcolm@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8740

Academic Staff

Title Name Position Discipline Location Contact
Dr Saiied Aminossadati Senior Lecturer MINE 43-207 s.aminossadati@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3676
Dr Aleks Atrens Research Fellow MECH 45-503 aleks.atrens@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 2819
Professor Andrejs Atrens Head of Division - Materials MATS 49-649 andrejs.atrens@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3748
Dr Michael Bermingham Lecturer MATS 49-641 m.bermingham@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9571
Dr Carlos Caceres Associate Professor MATS 43-220 c.caceres@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4377
Dr Zhongwei Chen Lecturer MINE 43-215 zhongwei.chen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3742
Dr William Daniel Senior Lecturer MECH 45-314 billd@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3584
Professor Matthew Dargusch Professor MATS 49-651A m.dargusch@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9225
Dr David Gildfind Lecturer MECH 45-521 d.gildfind@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3593
Dr Rowan Gollan Lecturer MECH 45-217 r.gollan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3851
Professor Hal Gurgenci Professor MECH 45-501 h.gurgenci@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3607
Dr Michael Heitzmann Lecturer MECH 45-215 m.heitzmann@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3579
Associate Professor Kamel Hooman Associate Professor MECH 45-216 k.hooman@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3677
Prof Han Huang Professor MECH 45-312 han.huang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3583
Dr Peter Jacobs Associate Professor MECH 45-425 p.jacobs@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4068
Dr Ingo Jahn Lecturer MECH 45-319 i.jahn@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8733
Associate Professor Lydia Kavanagh Director - First Year Engineering EAIT 45-315 l.kavanagh@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4264
Dr Michael Kearney Lecturer MECH 45-517 m.kearney@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4673
Associate Professor Mehmet Kizil Associate Professor MINE 43-210 m.kizil@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4499
Associate Professor Alexander Klimenko Associate Professor MECH 45-320 a.klimenko@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3670
Dr Ruth Knibbe Lecturer MATS 49-643 ruth.knibbe@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4500
Professor Peter Knights Head of Division - Mining Engineering MINE 43-204 p.knights@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3915
Dr Christopher Leonardi Lecturer MINE 43-214 c.leonardi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3761
Professor Paul Lever Professor CEO, CRC Mining MINE PH-103B plever@mining3.com
+61 7 3365 5639
Professor Ross McAree Professor and Head of School MECH 43-200 p.mcaree@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3589
Professor David Mee Head of School MECH 45-413 d.mee@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4058
Professor Paul Meehan Professor MECH 45-426 meehan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4320
Professor Richard Morgan Professor MECH 45-313 r.morgan@uq.edu.au
54864 / 53592
Dr Micah Nehring Lecturer MINE 43-212 m.nehring@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3664
A/Prof Kazuhiro Nogita Associate Professor MATS 49-644 k.nogita@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3919
Dr Italo Onederra Senior Lecturer MINE 43-213 ionederra@mining3.com
+61 7 3365 4780
Associate Professor Carl Reidsema Associate Professor MECH 45-311 c.reidsema@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3596
Professor Michael Smart Professor MECH 45-523 m.smart@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3783
Associate Professor Rowan Truss Associate Professor MATS 49-648 r.truss@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3729
Dr Anand Veeraragavan Senior Lecturer MECH 45-321 anandv@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4069
Dr Martin Veidt Associate Professor MECH 45-424 m.veidt@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3621
Dr Vincent Wheatley Senior Lecturer MECH 45-522 v.wheatley@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 2969
Professor Mingxing Zhang Professor MATS 49-650 mingxing.zhang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8709
Professor Jin Zou Professor MATS 75-108 j.zou@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 3195

Research Staff

Title Name Position Discipline Location Contact
Dr Hooyar Attar Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-634:33 h.attar@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 1387
Dr Kevin Austin Research Fellow MECH 45-515:02 kevin.austin@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3581
Dr Daryl Bond Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-310:01 d.bond1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 7132
Dr Jeffrey Chang Casual Senior Research Officer MATS 49-634:15 haiweichang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3711
Dr Zhigang Chen Research Fellow MATS 45-405 zhigang.chen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4183
Dr Ali Dehghan-manshadi Research Fellow MATS 49-627:29 a.dehghanmanshadi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Mr Ajay Desai Research Officer MECH 45-404 a.desai@uq.edu.au
0412243466
Dr Scott Ding Research Fellow MECH 45-318 s.ding@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 6703
Dr Jeff Gates Senior Research Fellow MATS 49-531 j.gates@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3726
Dr Zhiqiang Guan Senior Research Fellow MECH 45-407:02 guan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4187
Dr Jing Lin Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 45-405 j.lin3@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4183
Dr Sheng Liu Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-114 s.liu3@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3588
Dr Yuanshen Lu Research Officer MECH 45-407:01 y.lu7@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 1661
Dr Mingyuan Lu Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 49-634:28 m.lu1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6229
Dr Stuart McDonald Senior Research Fellow MATS 49-627:11 s.mcdonald1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4500
Mr Lenny McInnes Senior Consultant, UQMP MATS 49-529:06 l.mcinnes@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3737
Dr Andras Nagy Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-406 a.nagy@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4457
Dr Arvind Prasad Research Fellow MATS 49-627:17 a.prasad3@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Mr Edward Prochon Research Fellow/Electrical Engineer MECH PH-103B eprochon@mining3.com
+61 7 3346 5614
Dr Dongdong Qu Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-634:06 d.qu1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3730
Mr Joji Quidim Lab / Field Technician MECH PH-103A jquidim@mining3.com
+61 7 3365 5677
Mr Hugh Russell Research Officer MECH 45-502 h.russell@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3685
Ms Garima Samvedi Graduate Automation Engineer MECH Pinjarra Hills g.samvedi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 5607
Mr David Schonfeld UQMP MATS 49-529:12 d.schonfeld@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7781
Dr Zhiming Shi Research Fellow MATS 49-634:07 zmshi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7968
Dr Zane Smith Software Engineer MECH 45-516:02 z.smith@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3587
Mr David Stevens Senior Research Officer MECH 45-502 d.stevens@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3685
Dr Dihon Tadic Senior Research Fellow MECH PH-103A dtadic@mining3.com
+61 7 3346 5618
Mr Reza Talebpour Project Engineer MECH 45-406 m.talebpour@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4457
Mr Juan Torres Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 49-627:20 juan.torres@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Dr Shiliang Wang Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 45-318 shiliang.wang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 6703
Dr Gui Wang Senior Research Fellow MATS 49-642 gui.wang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4312
Dr Lihua Wang Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 45-405 l.wang7@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4183
Dr Jerome Wu Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-627:22 y.wu4@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Dr Yao Xi Research Officer MATS Off Campus y.xi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 1387
Ms Li-Hui Zheng Research Assistant MATS 49-627:27 l.zheng@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 0771

Centre for eLearning Innovations and Partnerships in Science and Engineering (eLIPSE)

Title Name Position Location Contact
Mr Callum Buckmaster Graduate Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402 c.buckmaster@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Miss Ellen Juhasz eLIPSE Administrator 45-307 e.juhasz@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1301
Mr James Li Graduate Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402 james.li1@uq.edu.au
68018
Mr Sandesh Maheshwari Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402 s.maheshwari@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Dr Julie McCredden Research Officer 45-403 j.mccredden@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1301
Mr Andrew Mooney Graduate Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402 a.mooney@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Mr Neville Smith Research Officer 45-403 n.smith4@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1301
Mr Philip Waller Software Development Manager - eLIPSE 45-402 p.waller@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8778

Professional Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Ms Marilyn Barton Finance Officer 43-200:01 m.barton@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3734
Ms Senaai Chapple Casual Administration Officer 43-200B senaai.chapple@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3738
Mrs Rose-Marie Clements Administrative Officer 43-202 r.clements@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4414
Mrs Karen Foster Administrative Officer 43-200B karen.foster@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7823
Ms Kristin Greer Administrative Officer 43-202 k.greer@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9124
Mrs Kim Lamb School Manager 43-211 k.lamb@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3741
Ms Brianne Mackinnon Senior Administrative Officer 43-202 b.mackinnon@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4202
Ms Maata Moka Administration Officer 43-201 m.moka@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3668
Ms Clare Nelson Administration Officer 43-201 c.nelson1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 2437
Ms Li Peng Finance Officer 43-200 l.peng2@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3714
Ms Barbara Sheahan Administration Officer 43-202 b.sheahan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 2436
Mr Bojan Vlacic Senior Management Accountant 78-714A:02 b.vlacic@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6225
Miss Eileen Zhai Finance Officer 43-200 huihui.zhai@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3858

Technical Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Mr Daniel Graham Research Assistant 49-627:26 daniel.graham@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 0771
Mr Samuel Grieve T4 Tunnel Engineer 45-504:21 s.grieve@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3585
Mr Doug Malcolm Technical Officer - Design / WHSR 45-202:01 d.malcolm@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8740
Mr Eric Muhling Senior Technical Officer 632-G2:UQ Experimental Mine e.muhling@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 5801
Mr Jonathon Read Senior Technical Officer 49-627:33 j.read2@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Mrs Glenda Zemanek Senior Scientific Officer 49-627:34 g.zemanek@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3646

Emeritus Profs, Honorary and Adjunct Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Mr Sanchito Banerjee Adjunct Fellow Off Campus sanchito.banerjee@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3734
Dr Basil Beamish Casual Lecturer 43-208:01 b.beamish@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6230
Dr Philippe Blanloeuil Adjunct Research Fellow 49-627 p.blanloeuil@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Mr Nigel Boswell Adjunct Senior Fellow 45-427 n.boswell1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3594
Dr Stefan Brieschenk Adjunct Research Fellow Off Campus s.brieschenk@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr David Buttsworth Honorary Professor Off Campus d.buttsworth@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Wilson Chan Adjunct Research Fellow Off Campus y.chan1@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Jeremy Davies Adjunct Senior Fellow 45-427 jeremy.davies@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3594
Dr Troy Eichmann Adjunct Fellow 50-C110:02 t.eichmann@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 1065
Dr Bo Feng Adjunct Senior Lecturer Off Campus b.feng@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Professor Robert Frith Adjunct Professor 45-410 r.frith1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3598
Mr Don Fry Adjunct Professor Off Campus d.fry@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Professor Pat Kelly Honorary Professor 49-627:31 p.kelly@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Dr Damon Kent Honorary Research Fellow 49-652:04 d.kent@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3772
Dr Qian Liu Honorary Researcher 49-634:44 qian.liu@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3885
Dr Michael Macrossan Adjunct Senior Lecturer Off Campus m.macrossan@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Neil Mudford Adjunct Research Fellow 45-410 n.mudford@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3586
Professor Pra Murthy Emeritus Professor 45-410:02 p.murthy@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3586
Professor Fusheng Pan Honorary Professor 45-410:03 f.pan1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3598
Professor Allan Paull Honorary Professor Off Campus allan.paull@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Professor Ma Qian Honorary Professor Off Campus ma.qian@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Sarah Razzaqi Honorary Research Fellow Off Campus s.razzaqi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3736
Professor Graham Schaffer Honorary Professor Off Campus g.schaffer@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Mr Andrew Scott Adjunct Professor Off Campus a.scott5@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Warren Seib Casual Lecturer 43-209:02 w.seib@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3750
Dr Todd Silvester Adjunct Fellow 45-504:24 t.silvester@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4382
Professor John Simmons Emeritus Professor 45-410:01 j.simmons@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3595
Professor David St John Emeritus Professor 49-647 d.stjohn@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3641
Mr Keith Sweatman Adjunct Senior Fellow 49-634:01 k.sweatman@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3919
Dr Sandy Tirtey Adjunct Research Fellow Off Campus s.tirtey@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Tonguc Uysal Honorary Fellow Off Campus t.uysal@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Darren Van Twest Adjunct Professor Off Campus d.vantwest@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Professor Brian White Casual Lecturer 43-208:01 b.white@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6230