School of Mechanical & Mining Engineering

School Executive

Title Name Position Location Contact
Professor Ross McAree Head of School 43-200 p.mcaree@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3589
Prof Han Huang Chair - Research Committee 45-312 han.huang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3583
Professor Andrejs Atrens Head of Division - Materials 49-649 andrejs.atrens@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3748
Professor Peter Knights Chair - Teaching and Learning Committee 43-204 p.knights@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3915
Professor Michael Smart Chair - Engagement Committee 45-523 m.smart@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3783
Mrs Kim Lamb School Manager 43-211 k.lamb@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3741

Academic Staff

Title Name Position Discipline Location Contact
Associate Professor Saiied Aminossadati Associate Professor MINE 43-207 s.aminossadati@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3676
Professor Andrejs Atrens Head of Division - Materials MATS 49-649 andrejs.atrens@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3748
Dr Michael Bermingham Research Fellow MATS 49-641 m.bermingham@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9571
Dr Zhongwei Chen Lecturer MINE 43-215 zhongwei.chen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3742
Dr William Daniel Senior Lecturer MECH 45-314 billd@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3584
Professor Matthew Dargusch Professor MATS 49-651A m.dargusch@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9225
Dr David Gildfind Lecturer MECH 45-521 d.gildfind@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3593
Dr Rowan Gollan Lecturer MECH 45-217 r.gollan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3851
Professor Hal Gurgenci Professor MECH 45-501 h.gurgenci@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3607
Dr Michael Heitzmann Lecturer MECH 45-215 m.heitzmann@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3579
Associate Professor Kamel Hooman Associate Professor MECH 45-216 k.hooman@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3677
Dr Shahriar Hossain Senior Lecturer MECH 45-218 md.hossain@uq.edu.au
58214
Prof Han Huang Chair - Research Committee MECH 45-312 han.huang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3583
Dr Peter Jacobs Associate Professor MECH 45-425 p.jacobs@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4068
Dr Ingo Jahn Lecturer MECH 45-319 i.jahn@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8733
Associate Professor Lydia Kavanagh Director - First Year Engineering EAIT 45-315 l.kavanagh@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4264
Dr Michael Kearney Lecturer MECH 45-517 m.kearney@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4673
Associate Professor Mehmet Kizil Associate Professor MINE 43-210 m.kizil@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4499
Reader Alexander Klimenko Reader MECH 45-320 a.klimenko@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3670
Dr Ruth Knibbe Lecturer MATS 49-643 ruth.knibbe@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4500
Professor Peter Knights Chair - Teaching and Learning Committee MINE 43-204 p.knights@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3915
Dr Christopher Leonardi Lecturer MINE 43-214 c.leonardi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3761
Professor Paul Lever Professor CEO, CRC Mining MINE PH-103B plever@mining3.com
+61 7 3365 5639
Dr Mingyuan Lu Associate Lecturer MECH 49-642 m.lu1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6229
Professor Ross McAree Head of School MECH 43-200 p.mcaree@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3589
Professor David Mee Professor MECH 45-210 d.mee@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4058
Professor Paul Meehan Professor MECH 45-426 meehan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4320
Professor Richard Morgan Professor MECH 45-313 r.morgan@uq.edu.au
54864 / 53592
Dr Micah Nehring Lecturer MINE 43-212 m.nehring@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3664
Professor Kazuhiro Nogita Professor MATS 49-644 k.nogita@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3919
Dr Italo Onederra Senior Lecturer MINE 43-213 i.onederra@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4780
Associate Professor Carl Reidsema Associate Professor MECH 45-311 c.reidsema@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3596
Professor Michael Smart Chair - Engagement Committee MECH 45-523 m.smart@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3783
Associate Professor Rowan Truss Associate Professor MATS 49-648 r.truss@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3729
Dr Anand Veeraragavan Senior Lecturer MECH 45-321 anandv@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4069
Dr Martin Veidt Associate Professor MECH 45-424 m.veidt@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3621
Associate Professor Vincent Wheatley Associate Professor MECH 45-522 v.wheatley@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 2969
Professor Stephen Wilson Professor MECH 45-518 stephenjwilson@uq.edu.au
x53646
Professor Mingxing Zhang Professor MATS 49-650 mingxing.zhang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8709
Professor Jin Zou Professor MATS 75-108 j.zou@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 3195

Research Staff

Title Name Position Discipline Location Contact
Dr Yahia Ali Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-634:54 y.ali@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Hooyar Attar Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-634:45 h.attar@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 1387
Dr Kevin Austin Research Fellow MECH 45-515:02 kevin.austin@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3581
Dr Zhigang Chen Research Fellow MATS 45-405 zhigang.chen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4183
Mr David Creagh Mechatronics Automation Engineer MECH 49-634:07 d.creagh@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6229
Dr Ali Dehghan-manshadi Research Fellow MATS 49-634:60 a.dehghanmanshadi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 0771
Mr Ajay Desai Research Officer MECH 45-404 a.desai@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Scott Ding Lecturer MECH 45-318 s.ding@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 6703
Dr Satish Dommeti Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-406 d.satish@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Dr Khosro Fallahnezhad Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-309:05 k.fallahnezhad@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Jeff Gates Senior Research Fellow MATS 49-531 j.gates@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3726
Dr Zhiqiang Guan Senior Research Fellow MECH 45-407:02 guan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4187
Mr Ranishka Hewavisenthi Research Engineer MECH PH-103A rhewavisenthi@crcmining.com.au
+61 7 3346 5642
Miss Ji Won Kim Research Assistant MATS 49-634:57 j.kim1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 0771
Mr Samuel Lopez Leonard Research Officer MECH PH-203 sleonard@mining3.com
+61 7 3346 5647
Dr Sheng Liu Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-114 s.liu3@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3588
Dr Stuart McDonald Senior Research Fellow MATS 49-634:58 s.mcdonald1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 0771
Mr Lenny McInnes Senior Consultant, UQMP MATS 49-529:06 l.mcinnes@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3737
Dr Arvind Prasad Research Fellow MATS 49-634:59 a.prasad3@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 0771
Mr Edward Prochon Research Fellow/Electrical Engineer MECH PH-103B eprochon@mining3.com
+61 7 3346 5614
Dr Dongdong Qu Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-634:16 d.qu1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Mr Joji Quidim Lab / Field Technician MECH PH-103A jquidim@mining3.com
+61 7 3365 5677
Mr Hugh Russell Research Officer MECH 45-502 h.russell@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3685
Ms Garima Samvedi Graduate Automation Engineer MECH PH-103 g.samvedi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 5607
Mr David Schonfeld UQMP MATS 49-529:12 d.schonfeld@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7781
Mr Vikram Sharma Production/Industrial Engineer MATS 49-634:40 vikram.sharma@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3711
Dr Zhiming Shi Research Fellow MATS 49-634:17 zmshi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Dr Zane Smith Research Fellow MECH 45-516:02 z.smith@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3587
Dr Dihon Tadic Senior Research Fellow MECH PH-103A dtadic@mining3.com
+61 7 3346 5618
Mr Matthew Thompson Research Scholar MECH 45-309:09 matthew.thompson8@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Harry Veivers Casual Research Assistant MATS 49-652:05 harry.veivers@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Dr Asha Viswanath Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-309:06 a.viswanath@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Chang Wang Research Assistant MECH 45-304:08 chang.wang@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Gui Wang Senior Research Fellow MATS 45-406 gui.wang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4312
Dr Lihua Wang Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 45-405 l.wang7@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4183
Dr Shiliang Wang Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 45-318 shiliang.wang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 6703
Mr Kristian Weegink Research Officer MECH 45-406 k.weegink@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Yunpeng Zhang Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 49-421:04 y.zhang16@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8731
Ms Li-Hui Zheng Research Assistant MATS 49-634:12 l.zheng@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227

Centre for eLearning Innovations and Partnerships in Science and Engineering (eLIPSE)

Title Name Position Location Contact
Mr Nicholas Achilles Graduate Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402 n.achilles@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Mr Callum Buckmaster Graduate Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402 c.buckmaster@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Miss Ellen Juhasz eLIPSE Administrator 45-307 e.juhasz@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1301
Mr James Li Graduate Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402 james.li1@uq.edu.au
68018
Mr Sandesh Maheshwari Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402 s.maheshwari@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Mr Philip Waller Software Development Manager - eLIPSE 45-402 p.waller@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8778

Professional Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Ms Jessica Chisholm Administration Officer 43-202 j.chisholm@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 2436
Mrs Rose-Marie Clements Administrative Officer 43-202 r.clements@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4414
Mrs Karen Foster PA to Head of School 43-200B karen.foster@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7823
Ms Kristin Greer Administrative Officer 43-202 k.greer@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9124
Mrs Kim Lamb School Manager 43-211 k.lamb@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3741
Mrs Brianne Mackinnon Senior Administrative Officer 43-202 b.mackinnon@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4202

Technical Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Mr Frans De Beurs Technical Officer - Mechanical 45-134 f.debeurs@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4142
Mr Daniel Graham Research Assistant 49-634:19 daniel.graham@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Mr Samuel Grieve T4 Tunnel Engineer 45-504:21 s.grieve@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3585
Mr Keith Hitchcock Technical Officer - Mechanical 45-122 k.hitchcock@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 7263
Mr Eric Muhling Senior Technical Officer JKMRC e.muhling@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 5801
Mr Jonathan Read Senior Technical Officer 49-634:18 j.read2@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227

Emeritus Profs, Honorary and Adjunct Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Dr Aleks Atrens Honorary Research Fellow Off Campus aleks.atrens@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 2819
Mr Sanchito Banerjee Adjunct Fellow Off Campus sanchito.banerjee@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3734
Dr Philippe Blanloeuil Adjunct Research Fellow 49-627 p.blanloeuil@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Mr Nigel Boswell Adjunct Senior Fellow 45-427 n.boswell1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3594
Dr Stefan Brieschenk Adjunct Research Fellow Off Campus s.brieschenk@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr David Buttsworth Honorary Professor Off Campus d.buttsworth@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Carlos Caceres Honorary Off campus c.caceres@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4377
Dr Wilson Chan Research Fellow 45-504:24 y.chan1@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Jeremy Davies Adjunct Senior Fellow 45-427 jeremy.davies@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3594
Dr Bo Feng Adjunct Senior Lecturer Off Campus b.feng@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Professor Robert Frith Adjunct Professor 45-410:01 r.frith1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3598
Mr Don Fry Adjunct Professor Off Campus d.fry@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Ms Carolyn Jacobs Honorary Fellow Off Campus c.jacobs@uq.edu.au
 
Professor Pat Kelly Honorary Professor Off campus p.kelly@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Dr Damon Kent Honorary Research Fellow 49-652:04 d.kent@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Mr Andrew Leslie Adjunct Fellow 45-305 a.leslie@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Michael Macrossan Adjunct Senior Lecturer Off Campus m.macrossan@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Neil Mudford Adjunct Research Fellow 45-410:04 n.mudford@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3586
Professor Pra Murthy Emeritus Professor 45-410:02 p.murthy@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3586
Professor Fusheng Pan Honorary Professor 45-410:03 f.pan1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3598
Professor Allan Paull Honorary Professor Off Campus allan.paull@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Sarah Razzaqi Honorary Research Fellow Off Campus s.razzaqi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3736
Professor Graham Schaffer Honorary Professor Off Campus g.schaffer@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Mr Andrew Scott Adjunct Professor Off Campus a.scott5@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Warren Seib Casual Lecturer 43-209:02 w.seib@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3750
Dr Todd Silvester Adjunct Fellow 45-504:24 t.silvester@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4382
Professor John Simmons Emeritus Professor Off campus j.simmons@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3595
Mr David Smith Adjunct Fellow 45-206 david.smith1@uq.edu.au
 
Professor David St John Emeritus Professor 49-647 d.stjohn@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3641
Mr Keith Sweatman Adjunct Senior Fellow 49-644 k.sweatman@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3919
Dr Sandy Tirtey Adjunct Research Fellow Off Campus s.tirtey@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Darren Van Twest Adjunct Professor Off Campus d.vantwest@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Professor Brian White Casual Lecturer 43-208:01 b.white@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6230