School of Mechanical & Mining Engineering

School Executive

Name Position Location Contact
Professor Ross McAree Head of School 45-412 p.mcaree@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3589
Professor David Mee Chair - International Development 45-210:1 d.mee@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4058
Professor Matthew Dargusch Chair - Research Committee 49-651A:1 m.dargusch@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9225
Associate Professor Vincent Wheatley Chair - Teaching and Learning Committee 45-522:1 v.wheatley@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 2969
Mrs Kim Lamb School Manager 45-411 k.lamb@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3741

Academic Staff

Name Position Research Centre Contact
Associate Professor Saiied Aminossadati Associate Professor Energy Futures E: s.aminossadati@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3676
Office: 47A-803:1
Professor Andrejs Atrens Professor E: andrejs.atrens@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3748
Office: 49-649:1
Dr Michael Bermingham Lecturer E: m.bermingham@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 9571
Office: 49-641:1
Dr Zhongwei Chen Senior Lecturer E: zhongwei.chen@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3742
Office: 47A-806:4
Dr William Daniel Senior Lecturer E: billd@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3584
Office: 45-314:1
Professor Matthew Dargusch Chair - Research Committee E: m.dargusch@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 9225
Office: 49-651A:1
Dr Scott Ding Lecturer E: s.ding@uq.edu.au
 
Office: 45-318:2
Dr David Gildfind Lecturer E: d.gildfind@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3593
Office: 45-521:1
Dr Rowan Gollan Lecturer E: r.gollan@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3851
Office: 45-217:1
Professor Hal Gurgenci Professor E: h.gurgenci@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3607
Office: 45-501:1
Dr Michael Heitzmann Senior Lecturer E: m.heitzmann@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3579
Office: 45-215:1
Associate Professor Kamel Hooman Associate Professor E: k.hooman@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3677
Office: 45-216:1
Dr Md. Shahriar Hossain Senior Lecturer E: md.hossain@uq.edu.au
P: 58214
Office: 45-218:1
Prof Han Huang Professor E: han.huang@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3583
Office: 45-312:1
Dr Peter Jacobs Associate Professor E: p.jacobs@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4068
Office: 45-425:1
Dr Ingo Jahn Senior Lecturer E: i.jahn@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 8733
Office: 45-319:1
Professor Lydia Kavanagh Director - First Year Engineering E: l.kavanagh@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4264
Office: 45-315:1, 6-504:2
Dr Erkan Kayacan Lecturer - Mechatronic Engineering E: e.kayacan@uq.edu.au
P: 336 54673
Office: 45-517:1
Dr Michael Kearney Lecturer E: m.kearney@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4673
 
Associate Professor Mehmet Kizil Associate Professor E: m.kizil@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4499
Office: 47A-802:1
Reader Alexander Klimenko Associate Professor E: a.klimenko@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3670
Office: 45-320:1
Dr Ruth Knibbe Lecturer E: ruth.knibbe@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4500
Office: 49-643:1
Professor Peter Knights Professor E: p.knights@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3915
Office: 47A-805:1
Dr Christopher Leonardi Senior Lecturer E: c.leonardi@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3761
Office: 47A-804:1
Dr Mingyuan Lu Lecturer E: m.lu1@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 7033
Office: 49-642:1
Professor Ross McAree Head of School E: p.mcaree@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3589
Office: 45-412
Professor David Mee Chair - International Development E: d.mee@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4058
Office: 45-210:1
Professor Paul Meehan Professor E: meehan@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4320
Office: 45-426:1
Professor Richard Morgan Professor E: r.morgan@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4864
Office: 45-313:1
Dr Micah Nehring Lecturer E: m.nehring@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3664
Office: 47A-806A:3
Professor Kazuhiro Nogita Professor E: k.nogita@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3919
Office: 49-644:1
Dr Italo Onederra Senior Lecturer E: i.onederra@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4780
Office: 47A-801:1
Dr Tyson Phillips Lecturer E: t.phillips1@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3587
Office: 45-516:1
Professor Michael Smart Professor E: m.smart@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3783
Office: 45-523:1
Dr Roberta Sutton Associate Lecturer E: b.sutton@uq.edu.au
 
Office: 45-407:3
Associate Professor Rowan Truss Honorary Associate Professor E: r.truss@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3729
Office: 45-406:2
Dr Anand Veeraragavan Senior Lecturer E: anandv@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4069
Office: 45-321:1
Dr Martin Veidt Associate Professor E: m.veidt@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3621
Office: 45-424:1
Associate Professor Vincent Wheatley Chair - Teaching and Learning Committee E: v.wheatley@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 2969
Office: 45-522:1
Professor Stephen Wilson Professor E: stephenjwilson@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3646
Office: 45-518:1
Professor Mingxing Zhang Professor E: mingxing.zhang@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 8709
Office: 49-650:1
Professor Jin Zou Professor E: j.zou@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 3195
Office: 75-108:1

Research Staff

Name Position Research Centre Contact
Dr Yahia Ali Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: yahia.ali@uq.edu.au
N/A
Office: 49-529:10
Dr Hooyar Attar Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: h.attar@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4115
Office: 49-634:45
Dr Kevin Austin Research Fellow   E: kevin.austin@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3581
Office: 45-515:1
Dr Wilson Chan Adjunct Fellow   E: y.chan1@uq.edu.au
N/A
N/A
Dr Zhigang Chen Honorary Associate Professor   E: zhigang.chen@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4183
Office: 45-405:2
Mr David Creagh Mechatronics Automation Engineer   E: d.creagh@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 6229
N/A
Dr Ali Dehghan-manshadi Research Fellow   E: a.dehghanmanshadi@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4115
Office: 49-634:60
Mr Ajay Desai Research Officer   E: a.desai@uq.edu.au
N/A
N/A
Dr Satish Dommeti Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: d.satish@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3987
Office: 45-404:1
Dr Mitchell Dunn Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: m.dunn1@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 6227
Office: 49-634:11
Dr Khosro Fallahnezhad Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: k.fallahnezhad@uq.edu.au
N/A
Office: 45-309:5
Dr Jeff Gates Senior Research Fellow   E: j.gates@uqmp.uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3726
Office: 49-531:1
Dr Zhiqiang Guan Senior Research Fellow   E: guan@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 2819
Office: 45-503:1
Dr Rudy Irwan Senior Technical Officer   E: r.irwan@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3588
Office: 49-634:12
Miss Ji Won Kim Research Assistant   E: j.kim1@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 0771
Office: 49-634:57
Dr Steven Lewis Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: s.lewis6@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 1065
N/A
Dr Ming Li Postdoctoral Fellow   E: ming.s.li@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3885
Office: 49-634:53
Mr Yingang Liu UQ Development Fellow   E: yingang.liu@uq.edu.au
P:
Office: 49-652:2
Dr Sheng Liu Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: s.liu3@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3588
Office: 45-114:1
Dr Mohsen Masoudian Saadabad Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: m.masoudian@uq.edu.au
N/A
Office: 47A-801A:1
Mr Lenny McInnes Senior Consultant, UQMP   E: l.mcinnes@uqmp.uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3737
N/A
Professor Allan Paull DST Chair in Future Hypersonic Technologies   E: allan.paull@uq.edu.au
N/A
Office: 45-311
Dr Arvind Prasad Honorary Fellow   E: a.prasad3@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 0771
Office: 49-634:59
Mr Edward Prochon Research Fellow/Electrical Engineer   E: eprochon@mining3.com
P: +61 7 3346 5614
N/A
Dr Dongdong Qu Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: d.qu1@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 6227
Office: 49-634:16
Mr Joji Quidim Lab / Field Technician   E: jquidim@mining3.com
P: +61 7 3365 5677
Office: 103B-101:4
Mr Hugh Russell Research Officer   E: h.russell@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3685
Office: 45-502:1
Mr David Schonfeld UQMP   E: d.schonfeld@uqmp.uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 7781
N/A
Dr Zhiming Shi Research Fellow   E: zmshi@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 6227
Office: 49-634:17
Dr Zane Smith Research Fellow   E: z.smith@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3587
Office: 45-516:2
Mr Yong Sun Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: y.sun@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4179
Office: 45-309:10
Dr Dihon Tadic Senior Research Fellow   E: dtadic@mining3.com
P: +61 7 3346 5618
Office: 103A-132:1
Mr Tristan Vanyai Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: t.vanyai@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 1813
Office: 45-504:6
Dr Jeffrey Venezuela Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: j.venezuela@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3919
Office: 49-634:56
Dr Gui Wang Senior Research Fellow   E: gui.wang@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4312
Office: 45-406:1
Dr Shiliang Wang Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: shiliang.wang@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 6703
Office: 45-318:1
Dr  Yunpeng Zhang Postdoctoral Research Fellow   E: y.zhang16@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 8731
Office: 49-429:4
Ms Li-Hui Zheng Research Assistant   E: l.zheng@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 6227
Office: 49-634:34

Centre for eLearning Innovations and Partnerships in Science and Engineering (eLIPSE)

Name Position Location Contact
Miss Ellen Juhasz eLIPSE Administrator 45-307:2 e.juhasz@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1301
Mr Sandesh Maheshwari Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402:4 s.maheshwari@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Mr Elliot Ritchie Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402:3 e.ritchie@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Mr Chris Shadforth Research Data Analyst eLIPSE 45-402:5 c.shadforth@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8778
Mr Philip Waller Software Development Manager - eLIPSE 45-402:1 p.waller@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8778

Professional Staff

Name Position Location Contact
Ms Senaai Chapple Administrative Officer 45-410:4 senaai.chapple@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3668
Mrs Rose-Marie Clements Administrative Officer 45-410:2 r.clements@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4414
Mrs Karen Foster PA to Head of School 45-410:6 karen.foster@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7823
Ms Julita Greda-Tomaszewska Senior Administrative Officer 45-410:4 j.gredatomaszewska@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4202
Mrs Kim Lamb School Manager 45-411 k.lamb@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3741
Ms Naomi White Casual Administrative Officer 32-320:5, 45-410:3 n.white4@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9124

Technical Staff

Name Position Location Contact
Mr Frans De Beurs Senior Technical Officer - Mechanical   f.debeurs@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Daniel Graham Research Assistant 49-634:19 daniel.graham@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Mr Keith Hitchcock Senior Technical Officer - Mechanical 45-122:1 k.hitchcock@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 7263
Mr Ettienne Moller Industry Fellow Off Campus e.moller@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Jonathan Read Laboratory Support Manager 49-634:18 j.read2@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227

Emeritus Profs, Honorary and Adjunct Staff

Name Position Contact
Dr Aleks Atrens Honorary Research Fellow E: aleks.atrens@uq.edu.au
 
 
Mr Sanchito Banerjee Adjunct Fellow E: sanchito.banerjee@uq.edu.au
 
 
Mr Nigel Boswell Adjunct Senior Fellow E: n.boswell1@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3594
 
Dr Stefan Brieschenk Adjunct Research Fellow E: s.brieschenk@uq.edu.au
 
 
Dr David Buttsworth Honorary Professor E: d.buttsworth@uq.edu.au
 
 
Dr Carlos Caceres Associate Professor E: c.caceres@uq.edu.au
 
 
Ms Shima Ehtemam Haghighi Honorary Fellow E: s.ehtemamhaghighi@uq.edu.au
 
Office: 49-634:25
Professor Robert Frith Adjunct Professor E: r.frith1@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3598
Office: 45-406:3
Mr Don Fry Adjunct Professor E: d.fry@uq.edu.au
 
 
Mr Stephen Gwynn-Jones Industry Fellow E: s.gwynnjones@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3685
 
Dr Min Hong Honorary Fellow E: m.hong1@uq.edu.au
 
Office: 45-309:2
Professor Michael Hood Emeritus Professor E: m.hood@uq.edu.au
 
 
Ms Carolyn Jacobs Honorary Fellow E: c.jacobs@uq.edu.au
 
 
Professor Pat Kelly Honorary Professor E: p.kelly@uq.edu.au
 
 
Dr Damon Kent Honorary Senior Fellow E: d.kent@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3987
Office: 49-652:4
Mr Andrew Leslie Adjunct Fellow E: a.leslie@uq.edu.au
 
Office: 45-305:1
Dr Michael Macrossan Honorary Senior Fellow E: m.macrossan@uq.edu.au
 
 
Dr Neil Mudford Honorary Senior Fellow E: n.mudford@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3586
Office: 45-405:5
Professor Pra Murthy Emeritus Professor E: p.murthy@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3586
Office: 45-406:4
Professor Fusheng Pan Honorary Professor E: f.pan1@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3598
 
Dr Sarah Razzaqi Honorary Research Fellow E: s.razzaqi@uq.edu.au
 
 
Associate Professor Carl Reidsema Honorary Associate Professor E: c.reidsema@uq.edu.au
 
 
Professor Graham Schaffer Honorary Professor E: g.schaffer@uq.edu.au
 
 
Dr Warren Seib Adjunct Professor E: w.seib@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3750
 
Dr Todd Silvester Adjunct Senior Fellow E: t.silvester@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 4382
Office: 45-504:24
Professor John Simmons Emeritus Professor E: j.simmons@uq.edu.au
 
 
Mr David Smith Adjunct Fellow E: david.smith1@uq.edu.au
 
Office: 45-206:1
Professor David St John Emeritus Professor E: d.stjohn@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3641
Office: 49-647:1
Mr Keith Sweatman Adjunct Senior Fellow E: k.sweatman@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3365 3919
 
Dr Sandy Tirtey Adjunct Research Fellow E: s.tirtey@uq.edu.au
 
 
Dr Darren Van Twest Adjunct Professor E: d.vantwest@uq.edu.au
 
 
Professor Brian White Emeritus Professor E: b.white@uq.edu.au
P: +61 7 3346 6230
Office: 47A-801:2, 47A-801A:2