School of Mechanical & Mining Engineering

School Executive

Title Name Position Location Contact
Professor Matthew Dargusch Chair - Research Committee 49-651A:1 m.dargusch@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9225
Professor Ross McAree Head of School 45-412 p.mcaree@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3589
Associate Professor Vincent Wheatley Chair - Teaching and Learning Committee 45-522:1 v.wheatley@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 2969
Professor David Mee Chair - International Development 45-210:1 d.mee@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4058
Mrs Kim Lamb School Manager 45-411 k.lamb@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3741

Academic Staff

Title Name Position Discipline Location Contact
Associate Professor Saiied Aminossadati Associate Professor MINE 47A-803:1 s.aminossadati@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3676
Professor Andrejs Atrens Professor MATS 49-649:1 andrejs.atrens@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3748
Dr Michael Bermingham Lecturer MATS 49-641:1 m.bermingham@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9571
Dr Zhongwei Chen Senior Lecturer MINE 47A-806:4 zhongwei.chen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3742
Dr William Daniel Senior Lecturer MECH 45-314:1 billd@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3584
Professor Matthew Dargusch Chair - Research Committee MATS 49-651A:1 m.dargusch@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9225
Dr Scott Ding Lecturer MECH 45-318:2 s.ding@uq.edu.au
 
Dr David Gildfind Lecturer MECH 45-521:1 d.gildfind@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3593
Dr Rowan Gollan Lecturer MECH 45-217:1 r.gollan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3851
Professor Hal Gurgenci Professor MECH 45-501:1 h.gurgenci@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3607
Dr Michael Heitzmann Senior Lecturer MECH 45-215:1 m.heitzmann@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3579
Associate Professor Kamel Hooman Associate Professor MECH 45-216:1 k.hooman@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3677
Dr Md. Shahriar Hossain Senior Lecturer MECH 75-458:4, 45-218:1 md.hossain@uq.edu.au
58214
Prof Han Huang Professor MECH 45-312:1 han.huang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3583
Dr Peter Jacobs Associate Professor MECH 45-425:1 p.jacobs@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4068
Dr Ingo Jahn Senior Lecturer MECH 45-319:1 i.jahn@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8733
Professor Lydia Kavanagh Director - First Year Engineering EAIT 45-315:1, 6-504:2 l.kavanagh@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4264
Dr Erkan Kayacan Lecturer - Mechatronic Engineering MECH   e.kayacan@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Michael Kearney Lecturer MECH 45-517:1 m.kearney@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4673
Associate Professor Mehmet Kizil Associate Professor MINE 47A-802:1 m.kizil@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4499
Reader Alexander Klimenko Associate Professor MECH 45-320:1 a.klimenko@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3670
Dr Ruth Knibbe Lecturer MATS 49-643:1 ruth.knibbe@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4500
Professor Peter Knights Professor MINE 47A-805:1 p.knights@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3915
Dr Christopher Leonardi Senior Lecturer MINE 47A-804:1 c.leonardi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3761
Professor Paul Lever Professor CEO, CRC Mining MINE PH-103B plever@mining3.com
+61 7 3365 5639
Dr Mingyuan Lu Lecturer MECH 49-642:1 m.lu1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 7033
Professor Ross McAree Head of School MECH 45-412 p.mcaree@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3589
Professor David Mee Chair - International Development MECH 45-210:1 d.mee@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4058
Professor Paul Meehan Professor MECH 45-426:1 meehan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4320
Professor Richard Morgan Professor MECH 45-313:1 r.morgan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4864
Dr Micah Nehring Lecturer MINE 47A-806A:3 m.nehring@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3664
Professor Kazuhiro Nogita Professor MATS 49-644:1 k.nogita@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3919
Dr Italo Onederra Senior Lecturer MINE 47A-801:3 i.onederra@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4780
Dr Tyson Phillips Lecturer MECH 45-516:1 t.phillips1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3587
Professor Michael Smart Professor MECH 45-523:1 m.smart@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3783
Dr Roberta Sutton Associate Lecturer MATS 45-407:3 b.sutton@uq.edu.au
 
Associate Professor Rowan Truss Honorary Associate Professor MATS 45-406:2 r.truss@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3729
Dr Anand Veeraragavan Senior Lecturer MECH 45-321:1 anandv@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4069
Dr Martin Veidt Associate Professor MECH 45-424:1 m.veidt@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3621
Associate Professor Vincent Wheatley Chair - Teaching and Learning Committee MECH 45-522:1 v.wheatley@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 2969
Professor Stephen Wilson Professor MECH 45-518:1 stephenjwilson@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3646
Professor Mingxing Zhang Professor MATS 49-650:1 mingxing.zhang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8709
Professor Jin Zou Professor MATS 75-108:1 j.zou@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 3195

Research Staff

Title Name Position Discipline Location Contact
Dr Yahia Ali Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-529:10 yahia.ali@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Iman Ashtiani Adbi Research Officer MECH 45-504:13 i.ashtianiadbi@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Hooyar Attar Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-634:45 h.attar@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4115
Dr Kevin Austin Research Fellow MECH 45-515:1 kevin.austin@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3581
Dr Wilson Chan Adjunct Fellow MECH   y.chan1@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Zhigang Chen Honorary Associate Professor MATS 45-405:2 zhigang.chen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4183
Mr David Creagh Mechatronics Automation Engineer MECH 49-634:7 d.creagh@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6229
Dr Ali Dehghan-manshadi Research Fellow MATS 49-634:60 a.dehghanmanshadi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4115
Mr Ajay Desai Research Officer MECH   a.desai@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Satish Dommeti Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-404:1 d.satish@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Dr Mitchell Dunn Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 49-634:11 m.dunn1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Dr Khosro Fallahnezhad Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-309:5 k.fallahnezhad@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Jeff Gates Senior Research Fellow MATS 49-531 j.gates@uqmp.uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3726
Dr Zhiqiang Guan Senior Research Fellow MECH 45-503:1 guan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 2819
Dr Rudy Irwan Senior Technical Officer MECH   r.irwan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3588
Miss Ji Won Kim Research Assistant MATS 49-634:57 j.kim1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 0771
Mr Samuel Lopez Leonard Research Officer MECH PH-203 sleonard@mining3.com
+61 7 3346 5647
Dr Steven Lewis Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH   s.lewis6@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 1065
Dr Ming Li Postdoctoral Fellow MATS   ming.s.li@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3885
Mr Yingang Liu UQ Development Fellow MATS   yingang.liu@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Sheng Liu Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-114:1 s.liu3@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3588
Dr Mohsen Masoudian Saadabad Postdoctoral Research Fellow MINE 47A-801A:1 m.masoudian@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Lenny McInnes Senior Consultant, UQMP MATS   l.mcinnes@uqmp.uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3737
Professor Allan Paull DST Chair in Future Hypersonic Technologies MECH 45-311 allan.paull@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Arvind Prasad Honorary Fellow MATS 49-634:59 a.prasad3@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 0771
Mr Edward Prochon Research Fellow/Electrical Engineer MECH   eprochon@mining3.com
+61 7 3346 5614
Dr Dongdong Qu Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-634:16 d.qu1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Mr Joji Quidim Lab / Field Technician MECH 103A-131:4 jquidim@mining3.com
+61 7 3365 5677
Mr Hugh Russell Research Officer MECH 45-502:1 h.russell@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3685
Mr David Schonfeld UQMP MATS   d.schonfeld@uqmp.uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7781
Dr Zhiming Shi Research Fellow MATS 49-634:17 zmshi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Dr Zane Smith Research Fellow MECH 45-516:2 z.smith@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3587
Mr Yong Sun Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH   y.sun@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4179
Dr Dihon Tadic Senior Research Fellow MECH 103A-132:1 dtadic@mining3.com
+61 7 3346 5618
Mr Tristan Vanyai Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 45-504:6 t.vanyai@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 1813
Dr Jeffrey Venezuela Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 49-634:56 j.venezuela@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3919
Dr Gui Wang Senior Research Fellow MATS 45-406:1 gui.wang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4312
Dr Shiliang Wang Postdoctoral Research Fellow MATS 45-318:1 shiliang.wang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 6703
Mr Chang Wang Research Assistant MECH 45-304:08 chang.wang@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Yunpeng Zhang Postdoctoral Research Fellow MECH 49-429:4 y.zhang16@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8731
Ms Li-Hui Zheng Research Assistant MATS 49-634:34 l.zheng@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227

Centre for eLearning Innovations and Partnerships in Science and Engineering (eLIPSE)

Title Name Position Location Contact
Miss Ellen Juhasz eLIPSE Administrator 45-307:2 e.juhasz@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1301
Mr Sandesh Maheshwari Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE 45-402:4 s.maheshwari@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Mr Elliot Ritchie Web Applications Developer - eLIPSE   e.ritchie@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8018
Mr Chris Shadforth Research Data Analyst eLIPSE 45-403:5 c.shadforth@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8778
Mr Philip Waller Software Development Manager - eLIPSE 45-402:1 p.waller@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8778

Professional Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Ms Senaai Chapple Administrative Officer 45-410:4 senaai.chapple@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3668
Mrs Rose-Marie Clements Administrative Officer 45-410:2 r.clements@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4414
Mr Chris Ende HDR Liaison Officer 62-618:8 c.ende@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 2436
Mrs Karen Foster PA to Head of School 45-410:6 karen.foster@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7823
Ms Julita Greda-Tomaszewska Senior Administrative Officer 45-410:4 j.gredatomaszewska@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4202
Ms Kristin Greer Administrative Officer 45-410:05 k.greer@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9124
Mrs Kim Lamb School Manager 45-411 k.lamb@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3741
Mrs Brianne Mackinnon Senior Administrative Officer 45-410:03 b.mackinnon@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4202
Ms Naomi White Casual Administrative Officer 32-320:5, 45-410:3 n.white4@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9124

Technical Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Mr Frans De Beurs Senior Technical Officer - Mechanical 50-C108:1 f.debeurs@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Daniel Graham Research Assistant 49-634:19 daniel.graham@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227
Mr Keith Hitchcock Senior Technical Officer - Mechanical 45-122:1 k.hitchcock@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 7263
Mr Ettienne Moller Industry Fellow Off Campus e.moller@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Jonathan Read Laboratory Support Manager 49-634:18 j.read2@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6227

Emeritus Profs, Honorary and Adjunct Staff

Title Name Position Location Contact
Dr Aleks Atrens Honorary Research Fellow   aleks.atrens@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Sanchito Banerjee Adjunct Fellow   sanchito.banerjee@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Nigel Boswell Adjunct Senior Fellow   n.boswell1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3594
Dr Stefan Brieschenk Adjunct Research Fellow   s.brieschenk@uq.edu.au
 
Dr David Buttsworth Honorary Professor   d.buttsworth@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Carlos Caceres Associate Professor   c.caceres@uq.edu.au
 
Ms Shima Ehtemam Haghighi Honorary Fellow 49-634:25 s.ehtemamhaghighi@uq.edu.au
 
Professor Robert Frith Adjunct Professor 45-405:3 r.frith1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3598
Mr Don Fry Adjunct Professor   d.fry@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Stephen Gwynn-Jones Industry Fellow   s.gwynnjones@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3685
Dr Min Hong Honorary Fellow 45-309:2 m.hong1@uq.edu.au
 
Professor Michael Hood Emeritus Professor   m.hood@uq.edu.au
 
Ms Carolyn Jacobs Honorary Fellow   c.jacobs@uq.edu.au
 
Professor Pat Kelly Honorary Professor   p.kelly@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Damon Kent Honorary Senior Fellow 49-652:4 d.kent@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3987
Mr Andrew Leslie Adjunct Fellow 45-305:1 a.leslie@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Michael Macrossan Honorary Senior Fellow   m.macrossan@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Neil Mudford Honorary Senior Fellow 45-405:5 n.mudford@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3586
Professor Pra Murthy Emeritus Professor 45-405:2 p.murthy@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3586
Professor Fusheng Pan Honorary Professor   f.pan1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3598
Dr Sarah Razzaqi Honorary Research Fellow   s.razzaqi@uq.edu.au
 
Associate Professor Carl Reidsema Honorary Associate Professor   c.reidsema@uq.edu.au
 
Professor Graham Schaffer Honorary Professor   g.schaffer@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Warren Seib Adjunct Professor   w.seib@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3750
Dr Todd Silvester Adjunct Senior Fellow 45-504:24 t.silvester@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4382
Professor John Simmons Emeritus Professor   j.simmons@uq.edu.au
 
Mr David Smith Adjunct Fellow 45-206:1 david.smith1@uq.edu.au
 
Professor David St John Emeritus Professor 49-647 d.stjohn@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3641
Mr Keith Sweatman Adjunct Senior Fellow   k.sweatman@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3919
Dr Sandy Tirtey Adjunct Research Fellow   s.tirtey@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Darren Van Twest Adjunct Professor   d.vantwest@uq.edu.au
 
Professor Brian White Emeritus Professor 47A-801:2, 47A-801A:2 b.white@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 6230